Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] Unable to reset locked laptop battery DELL J1KND with bq20870, bq29312 chipset

carlmartin999
(@carlmartin999)
Trusted Member Customer

Hi,

I recently received my NLBA1 Analyzer and played with it a bit until I was comfortable enough with the device to efficiently use my 10 day reset trial. This is my first post and I apologize if this has already been addressed. I could not find anything in the forum.

I activated it today and the first battery I tried to reset (Dell J1KND) shows 0mv on every cell and no temperature, even though I balanced them all to 4.2V before recelling. The pack has a BQ20870 (FW 82.04) SMBus controller and a BQ29312 Battery Protection AFE. I am an electrical engineer and have read a lot on the SBS protocol and how these devices operate. I went through TI's sluu276 documentation and got a pretty good unerstanding of the concept.

Attached are some pictures of the dynamic and static readings, as well as the battery and lock statuses. I need to enable the Power On feature in order to communicate with the battery.
I also attached a screenshot of the reset tab log after clicking "Read SBS". Temperature and cell voltages indicate "Reset disabled", which seems to be intended from what I read in another thread, stating that resetting a battery with bad cells was pointless.

BUT, it seems like the BQ29312 has a "Host Fault Mode" (State diagram attached), in which cell monitoring, temperature monitoring and FETs are off. My educated guess would be that the AFE reports no voltage or temperature, and the SMBus controller reports it back to the NLBA software. This prevents me from unsealing the chip and reading/clearing the failure flags.

I verified the thermal fuse, all the connections to the cells and the thermistor. Everything tested OK.

Can anyone assist me with this?

Additional info:

- Writing 0x0006 (Manufacturer Status) to address 0x00 returns 0x8906, indicating charge and discharge FETs are off.